U is for Umbrella, Useful, and Ugh!

Mike is always after me about taking an umbrella when I leave the house and because I’m a punk, I never do.

Why?

…because it’s been stifling hot in London since we arrived.

Granted, it’s not nearly as bad as the shocking 107 degrees that was forecast for Dallas/Ft. Worth over the weekend, but probably more noticeable since we walk everywhere and A/C is a rare find in the UK…

“It hasn’t rained ONCE since we got here and until it does, I’m not carrying ONE… MORE… THING” I told Mike.

Sure enough, Avery and I got caught in our first official London rain storm last week… and of course, I was without our umbrella.

I got totally drenched, but I had it coming to me for not listening to Mike in the first place.

Fortunately, Avery’s new Maclaren Techno XT comes equipped with an excellent rain cover and he and Blue stayed dry. I would expect no less from an ENGLISH stroller (or, as it’s better known here, “pushchair”).

Our other strollers were “nice” (for putting in the back of the station wagon and taking to the mall), but after deciding to move to London, we wanted something better equipped to deal with “urban living”.

We sold the other two to buy this one and…

Oh Man! I could write an entire post about how much I ADORE this stroller, but instead I’ll leave you with this song:

Stroller Town by Jonathan Coulton

Some of you have probably already heard it from Avery’s last birthday CD. I could listen to it over and over again. In fact, I do. Enjoy!

2 Comments

Filed under Weather

2 responses to “U is for Umbrella, Useful, and Ugh!

  1. I never thought I would love a stroller until I had a baby here in London and walk everywhere with it!

    And I agree, while it may be hotter in the US at least they have a/c – that is what I keep telling my parents in Atlanta when I complain!

  2. We’re moving to England this week (Manchester, though, not London) and are debating which stroller to bring– the one we refer to as “the tank” (part of the “travel system” that most first-time parents make the mistake of registering for) and the far more nimble jogger, which is less likely to survive the airline’s treatment. It sounds like you’d suggest the jogger? Or, compared to a nice umbrella stroller, is a jogger too big to even bother bringing?

Leave a Reply

