For the love of Pancakes!

Overhead from three teenage boys (15-ish, maybe 16) while riding the Underground’s Central Line. (Feel free to supply your own British accents.)

“The pancakes in America are AMAZING! They’re so fluffy and round.”

“…and they give you so many! You can get STACKS of them. Big ones and they’re SO GOOD.”

“I would go back to America JUST for the pancakes.”

Come to think of it… So would I.

As I made my way off the train, another passenger helped me with Avery’s stroller. He must have picked up on my American accent because when I thanked him, he asked me if the pancakes in America were really that amazing.

“Oh yes. Fabulous. You don’t even know,” I said with a grin.

************************************************************************************

Did you know that there really is a “Pancake Day” and it wasn’t invented by IHOP?

Pancake Day is actually celebrated in the UK, although my fellow Americans may know it as Mardi Gras or Shrove Tuesday, the day before the beginning of Lent. While also recognized by the other “colonies” (i.e. Australia, New Zealand, India, and Canada), there’s a long history of Pancake Day festivities particular to the UK…

There’s the pancake races (one at Olney in Buckinghamshire has been held since 1445), Mischief Night (breaking into people’s houses in disguise and demanding pancakes) and Lent Crocking or Lensharding (throwing old crockery at people’s doors and asking for pancakes to be tossed back).

I think pancakes are best when EATEN with yummy warm maple syrup but, as I’ve mentioned before, that’s considered “strange” here…

6 Comments

Filed under Foodie, Holidays and Merrymaking, Life In The States, Overheard

6 responses to “For the love of Pancakes!

  1. You should check out Partridges in Sloane Square or Panzer’s in St Johns Wood, they may have real ‘American’ maple syrup!

  2. I make my Grandma’s recipe which are amazing. I never eat pancakes in a restaurant because they never compare to the one’s that I make at home…..

  3. That’s so funny…It’s always the little things isn’t it?

    But yes, the pancakes here are pretty damn good. We have “Pancake Sunday” at our house. It’s fabulous.

  4. Pancakes, that is what they like about the US? Do they not have them there? Let me know. I’ll send you some, we can’t have you eating crap cakes!

  5. Have you seen the short film about making pancakes by an Aberdeen (Scotland) student:

  6. What is the correct pronunciation for “syrup”? My wife and I are disagreeing on this and I need a definitive answer.

Leave a Reply

