Blogging Under The Influence

Last night, I ran a brush through my hair, put on eyeliner and a shirt WITHOUT peanut butter stains, and headed into the city to attend my very first London Bloggers Meetup…

I was nervous about going, especially as I looked over the profiles of the other attendees…

Strategic Online… Director of Internet… PR Guru… Techie Wonder… Boring American Housewife Complaining about Londoners… Huh?!

Although my background is in online advertising and I have an MBA in Marketing, let’s face it… that all feels like a lifetime ago (even though it really wasn’t) and I totally didn’t bring my “A game” to London.

When I worked as an agency, I used to attend “networking events” all the time. I’d toss back a few cocktails, make some small talk, exchange contact info… Not a bad way to earn a paycheck and win the client.

I’m friendly, talkative, and fun. You’d think I’d be good that that sort of stuff, but really… I’m not. I would sometimes drink a little too much, maybe forget to bring my business cards, and inevitably say the wrong thing… only to sober up the next morning afternoon day and kick myself.

So walking into this event…for the first time… alone… as a foreigner in a new country… Yeah, nervous can’t begin to describe. Turns out, I had no reason to fret.

IT WAS FABULOUS… and there were so many interesting new people to meet.

I should first mention that the event was sponsored by Smirnoff and Splendid Communications, and held at the private company bar at Diageo Headquarters (maker of  some fine favorites such as Guinness, Tanqueray, and Captain Morgan… just to name a few).

…and as if that wasn’t FUN enough, they had mixologists (bartenders) create a signature cocktail for each guest based on their blog.

Curious what concoction they came up with for the “American Mom in London”?

Why, red, white, and blue with a touch of sweetness, of course. It was a mix of apples with a bit of tea (from my URL), vodka, blueberries, and maple syrup.

And why maple syrup, you ask?

Because… and I quote, “It’s what you Americans put on your pancakes, right Love?”

(It always goes back to the pancakes, man…)

Also, it turns out I brought my “A game” to London after all. As I was heading out, I said good-bye to a guy with whom I had chatted when I first arrived. He was, at that point in the evening, holding TWO drinks.

I made a comment about him having a drink in each hand, using an old college expression from the States.

He gave me such a (mock) scandalized look and told me to “never, ever say that again” as the other people who had overheard me fought to suppress giggles. He explained that what I just said was “umm… a bit of a dodgy term here”.

We had a laugh about it though, but on the bright side, I guess some things never change. Only now, it makes for great blog fodder.

5 Comments

Filed under Blogging, Foodie, Life In The States, Misconceptions and Mishaps, Undiplomatic Behavior

5 responses to “Blogging Under The Influence

  1. Bec

    Very curious to know what it was you said to the guy with the two drinks!! 😉

  2. Wish I could have gone with you. Sucks that I have to miss the next TWO as well. Who ever thought I’d wish I was in London when I was back in the States!

  3. I think I know what you said to the guy with two drinks. I’m curious to know what it refers to there, but I could have an idea.

    Cool that they came up with a drink for you! BTW, I think I may be the only american that absolutely hates maple syrup!!!! I’m not a big pancake fan, and I like my french toast with sugar on it!

  4. Rax

    Grace – it was a pleasure meeting you. I’m glad you made it over. West London’s all the better for having you and your family over from the States.

    As for your A Game… you were on form. I hope Splendid can work with you one day, so stay in touch.

    I’ve sent you over your recipe card, so have a go at making your own Smirnoff ApplePie Moscow Mule. I know you know how…

    All the best,

    Rax

  5. Sounds like a fabulous time. I hope to get to BlogHer ’09 next summer, but would ‘settle’ for coming to England for one of these events.

Leave a Reply

