1,2,3,4… Tell Me That You Love Me More

As I mentioned in an earlier post, Mike and I celebrated a wedding anniversary recently.

Four years ago we promised to love, honor, and cherish. Little did I know that it would be more like honour…

Of course, at the time, I also expected ours to be a life right out of a Pottery Barn catalog– gracious dinner parties, Saturday mornings at the farmers’ market, monogrammed table linens… or as my younger (and much cooler) sisters would probably call it, “Death by boredom… er, suburbia”.

Fortunately, Mike had more exciting things in store for us… kind of.

So aside from a “romantic getaway” to Stonehenge, how did we celebrate our grand and wonderful love?

Mike went to work and I stayed home with Avery…

ALL DAY! Whew-hew!

Okay, okay. So I DID manage to throw together a decent(ish) dinner that night.

Scallops in a sage butter sauce as an appetizer. Parsnip and sweet potato encrusted pork loin, garlic potatoes, and green beans for the main course. A store-bought English apple crumble and ice cream for desert.

It wasn’t until after dinner that I realized that I probably shouldn’t have indulged in the scallops.

Mike and I may have hit it off immediately upon meeting, but seafood and I… well, let’s just say our relationship is less… umm, agreeable.

I sent Mike out to the ONLY store in London open “late” (past 8pm) for sparkling water and Alka-Selzer. Then, we spent the rest of the evening watching a re-broadcast of the last Presidential debate (i.e. yelling at the TV).

Not exactly silk stockings and garters, but just as special… I guess.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

2 Comments

Filed under Daily Life, Marriage

2 responses to “1,2,3,4… Tell Me That You Love Me More

  1. A decent (ish) meal? Sounds more like a 5-star restaurant. Congrats on the anniversary. I hope you make a complete comeback from the scallops.

  2. Sounds like a lovely anniversary, we’ll be celebrating number 12 this year … apart, he’s going skiing with his buddies. He booked it, having completely forgotten what the date was, yes it actually happens eventually 😉

Leave a Reply

