Playing Tea Party with Grown-ups

As soon as we announced our move to London, the threats requests to stay with us poured in immediately.

I tended to ignore the ones who framed their request as “Oh wow, a FREE place to stay in London” (Not quite. Get a hotel, freeloaders) versus the ones who said, “Oh, how we will miss you SO much. We just have to see you as soon as possible”…

It’s all in how you spin it, people.

So far, the only ones to make good on their promise will be my family, plus my sister’s boyfriend who might as well be family. The last time we talked, he said that he wanted to do the touristy stuff, but mainly wanted to experience what REAL Londoners do– where they go, where they drink, and peek in their tiny fridges.

I’m not sure if we qualify as “real Londoners” (or that we have any clue what the cool kids are doing). As much as we try to keep a low profile, there are just some things that are so ridiculously touristy that they BEG to be done…

Like leaving the kidlets at home with the Hubby for the afternoon and having a proper English tea…

… in the beautiful lobby…

… of The Landmark of London…

…with your girls…

… who are also Americans.

tea I did NOT take the foodie photo on the right and therefore deserve ZERO credit for it.

In fact, I yanked it from The Landmark’s site.

The lousy photo I took… the one with the bad lighting, boring composition, and strange angle simply did NOT do it justice.

I think we should have a do-over.

You’re welcome to join me, provided you’re not too embarrassed to be seen with the dorky girl toting the large camera?

I mean, doesn’t that just scream “tourist”…

PhotoStory Friday
Hosted by Cecily and MamaGeek

6 Comments

Filed under Foodie, PhotoStory Friday, Sightseeing

6 responses to “Playing Tea Party with Grown-ups

  1. How fun! I would love tea in London!

  2. Oh that just looks BEYOND lovely! I would love some tea in London TOO!

  3. That looks amazing! I would for sure do that if I were visiting London!

  4. I love English tea, but have only had an American equivalent. And it’s not a dorky camera, you’re a photographer! Happy PSF and thanks for visiting.

  5. cute story and i hope the freeloaders will realize that there’s no such thing as free all in the world hehehe! have fun in England.

  6. Oh fun! Enjoy your stay in London. I would love to visit there someday, but I’m poor. Do everything twice for those of us who will probably never make it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

