Paris In Photos – Part Une

This is our second day home from Paris and piles of laundry are being ignored because I am STILL going through all of our photos from our trip…

… all ONE THOUSAND of them. Literally.

Thank goodness for digital. I’ve deleted most of the duplicate/blurry/”someone walked right in front of us” shots, but there’s still way too much for just four days.

In any case, here are the highlights of our trip:

Versailles…

Technically outside of Paris, but I was absolutely insistent that Mike see why j’adore Sofia Copella’s Marie Anoinette (even though most people I know did not). It was filmed on location in Versailles you know… and to see it in person is just breathtaking.

The first time I went to Paris (and Versailles) I was 15 years old and on a trip with my high school French class. Why that was a good idea, I will never understand.

My friends and I were completely obnoxious and our antics included (but were not limited to) “storming” the steps of Versailles while singing “Do You Hear The People Sing” from Les Miserables.

Can you say… Theater. Geeks.

See how dignified and reserved I was upon my return….

So perhaps winter was not the best time to tour the gardens…

…especially with the statues covered up… mostly.

It was impressive, none the less.

Yet, of all of the brilliant sights of Versailles, Avery was most taken with the garbage trucks and puddles.

The entire time he kept saying, “Look, garbage truck! Garbage truck! Mommy! Mommy! Garbage truck!”

I had to remind him, “This is France, mon petit cou, you mean gar-bahj…”

To be continuted…

2 Comments

Filed under Family, Sightseeing, Travel

2 responses to “Paris In Photos – Part Une

  1. J

    Aren’t you glad you didn’t have to travel around with that ridiculous stuffed pig this time?

  2. Lucky you! I did love Sofia Coppola’s Marie Antoinette. Sometimes I come across it on one of the movie channels when I’m channel surfing and I still leave it and watch. I could watch it over and over. I love the music she picked!!!

Leave a Reply

